What has the maker movement got to do with public health?

Risk Bites is your guide to making sense of risk. We cover everything from understanding and balancing the risks and benefits of everyday products, to health science more broadly, to the potential impacts of emerging technologies, to making sense of risk perception. If you enjoy our videos, please subscribe, and spread the word! Associated web content: http://www.riskscience.umich.edu/public-health-maker-movement/ What has the maker movement got to do with public health? Everything! Risk Bites explores the importance of connecting individual creativity with designers, health professionals and technology geeks to help solve some of the greatest public health risks of our time. If you're in the Ann Arbor area and want to know more, come to the We Make Health Fest, Saturday August 16th, 10 AM – 4 PM: http://makehealth.us/ And please do join the conversation in the comments below. Risk Bites is supported by: University of Michigan Risk Science Center. http://riskscience.umich.edu University of Michigan School of Public Health. http://www.sph.umich.edu/ Backing track: Based on Blue and Green by Rimsky. http://www.premiumbeat.com/royalty_free_music/songs/blue-and-green FURTHER INFORMATION AND READING General We Make Health Fest, August 16th, Ann Arbor MI: http://makehealth.us/ White House Maker Faire: http://www.whitehouse.gov/maker-faire Maker Culture: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maker_culture World Economic Forum Global Risks report: http://www.weforum.org/issues/global-risks Sanitation Open Defecation (please read): http://opendefecation.org/ UN Millenium Goals: http://www.un.org/millenniumgoals/endopendefecation.shtml The Big Necessity: The Unmentionable World of Human Waste and Why It Matters (Rose George): http://rosegeorge.com/site/books/the-big-necessity Sedentary behavior Physical inactivity a leading cause of disease and disability, warns WHO: http://www.who.int/mediacentre/news/releases/release23/en/ Sedentary Behavior: Emerging Evidence for a New Health Risk. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. http://dx.doi.org/10.4065/mcp.2010.0444 Eating smart Columbia University: Obesity Kills More Americans Than Previously Thought: http://www.mailman.columbia.edu/news/obesity-kills-more-americans-previously-thought USDA Choose My Plate http://www.choosemyplate.gov/ Urban farming: http://www.urbanfarming.org/ Momentum Center, University of Michigan: http://momentumcenter.org/ Pollution WHO: 7 million premature deaths annually linked to air pollution http://www.who.int/mediacentre/news/releases/2014/air-pollution/en/ Portable sensor lets users monitor air pollution on their smartphone (Gizmag): http://www.gizmag.com/citisense-air-quality-monitor/25512/ Researchers develop smartphone-based air quality tool for public health (mobihealthnews): http://mobihealthnews.com/34856/researchers-develop-smartphone-based-air-quality-tool-for-public-health/ Antimicrobial resistance WHO, Antimicrobial resistance: http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs194/en/ CDC Threat Report 2013 on antimicrobial resistance: http://www.cdc.gov/drugresistance/threat-report-2013/ European Food Safety Authority – Antimicrobial resistance: http://www.efsa.europa.eu/en/topics/topic/amr.htm Click here to see more videos: https://alugha.com/RiskBites

LicenseCreative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike

More videos by this producer

Not another COVID safety video ... honest!

How do you go about avoiding becoming infected by a harmful airborne virus like COVID-19 -- especially if you're a student heading back to campus? There are, of course, a number of blindingly obvious ways to do this. However, because so many people seem to have forgotten them, I thought it worth p

Solution Focused Risk Assessment and Emerging Technologies

What is solution-focused risk assessment, and how can it help in the governance of emerging technologies? Solution-focused risk assessment, or SFRA, is a novel way of thinking about and managing risks developed by Adam Finkel. It involves analyzing the good and bad consequences of what we can do to

What is Epidemiology?

What epidemiology is, and why it's important? Risk Bites provides a simple introduction to what epidemiology is, and how to make sense of epidemiology studies when people's health is on the line. With Mariya Voytyuk. Written, illustrated, narrated and filmed by Dr. Mariya Voytyuk RISK BITES Risk