Der Attentäter

Der Attentäter (Originaltitel: Suddenly) ist ein in Schwarzweiß gedrehter US-amerikanischer Film noir von Lewis Allen aus dem Jahr 1954. Im friedlichen kalifornischen Städtchen Suddenly steht die geheime Ankunft des US-Präsidenten bevor, der hier vom Zug in ein Auto umsteigen soll. Während der Secret Service und die örtliche Polizei auf dem Bahnhof mit den nötigen Vorbereitungen beschäftigt sind, treffen im Haus der Familie Benson auf einem angrenzenden Hügel drei Männer ein. Sie stellen sich als FBI-Agenten vor, die das Haus durchsuchen wollen. Als kurz darauf auch Sheriff Tod Shaw und der leitende Secret-Service-Agent Dan Carney eintreffen, wird Carney von den angeblichen FBI-Leuten erschossen und ein weiterer Schuss zertrümmert Shaws linken Arm. Es stellt sich heraus, dass es sich bei den dreien in Wirklichkeit um Auftragskiller handelt. Ihr Anführer John Baron will den Präsidenten vom Wohnzimmerfenster der Bensons aus erschießen. Während Ellen Benson sich im Schlafzimmer um den verletzten Sheriff kümmert, gelingt es ihrem Schwiegervater, unbemerkt seinen Revolver zu laden und in einer Kommodenschublade zu deponieren. Schließlich werden alle ins Wohnzimmer gebracht, wo Barons Komplizen Benny Conklin und Bart Wheeler vor dem Fenster einen Metalltisch festschrauben und ein Scharfschützengewehr darauf montieren. Danach schickt Baron Conklin zum Bahnhof, um die Lage zu peilen. Kurz darauf trifft noch der Fernsehtechniker Jud Kelly im Haus ein und wird ebenfalls gefangen gesetzt. Nachdem Conklin am Bahnhof enttarnt und erschossen wurde, entwickelt sich zwischen den beiden Weltkriegsveteranen Shaw und Baron ein psychologisches Katz-und-Maus-Spiel. Dabei wird klar, dass Baron ein gefährlicher Psychopath ist, der aus Spaß am Töten mordet. Während Jud den Fernseher neben dem Fenster repariert, findet der kleine Pidge Benson den Revolver in der Kommodenschublade und tauscht ihn gegen seinen Spielzeugrevolver aus, den er schon den ganzen Tag mit sich herumträgt. Jud verbindet die Stromversorgung des Fernsehers heimlich mit dem Metalltisch. Als Wheeler die Zielvorrichtung des Gewehrs prüfen will, erhält er einen tödlichen Stromschlag, wodurch sich zahlreiche Schüsse aus dem Gewehr lösen und die Polizei am Bahnhof aufmerksam wird. Baron erschießt Jud, löst die Stromkabel vom Tisch und zielt auf den einfahrenden Zug. Durch die Schüsse gewarnt fährt dieser aber, ohne zu stoppen durch. Ellen Benson verwundet den geschockten Benson mit Pidges Pistole in der Brust. Shaw greift sich die Waffe und erschießt ihn. Besetzung - Frank Sinatra: John Baron - Sterling Hayden: Sheriff Tod Shaw - James Gleason: Peter „Pop“ Benson - Nancy Gates: Ellen Benson - Kim Charney: Peter Benson III („Pidge“) - Willis Bouchey: Dan Carney - Paul Frees: Benny Conklin - Christopher Dark: Bart Wheeler - James O'Hara: Jud Kelly - Kem Dibbs: Wilson - Clark Howat: Haggerty - Charles Smith: Bebop - Paul Wexler: Slim Adams Mehr dazu auf Wikipedia: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Der_Attent%C3%A4ter

LicensePublic Domain

More videos by this producer

Die gnadenlosen Killer

Die gnadenlosen Killer (Originaltitel: Ma Barker's Killer Brood) ist ein US-amerikanischer Gangsterfilm von Bill Karn für die Produktionsfirma Universal aus dem Jahr 1960 mit Lurene Tuttle, Tristram Coffin, Paul Dubov und Myrna Dell in den Hauptrollen. Der Film wurde von der Screen Classics Inc. pro

The Snows of Kilimanjaro

The Snows of Kilimanjaro is a 1952 American Technicolor film based on the 1936 short story of the same name by Ernest Hemingway. It is directed by Henry King, written by Casey Robinson, and starred Gregory Peck as Harry, Susan Hayward as Helen, and Ava Gardner as Cynthia Green (a character invented

Rififi in St. Louis

Eine Gang plant einen Überfall auf eine Bank in St. Louis, in deren Tresor 100.000 Dollar liegen sollen. George, der eigentlich wieder aufs College gehen will, wird von Gino, dem älteren Bruder seiner Ex-Freundin Ann, angeheuert. Da er das Geld braucht, lässt er sich auf die Sache ein, doch Gang-Lea

Suddenly !

Suddenly is a 1954 American film noir crime film directed by Lewis Allen with a screenplay written by Richard Sale.[3] The drama stars Frank Sinatra and Sterling Hayden, and features James Gleason and Nancy Gates, among others. The story concerns a small California town whose tranquility is shattered when the train of the President of the United States is scheduled to pass through the town, and a hired assassin and his henchmen take over a home as a perfect location to assassinate the president. In post-war America the President of the United States is scheduled to journey through the small town of Suddenly, California. Claiming to be checking up on security prior to his arrival, a group of FBI agents arrive at the home of the Bensons, on top of a hill that looks down upon the station where the presidential train is scheduled to stop. However, they soon turn out to be assassins led by the ruthless John Baron (Frank Sinatra), who take over the house and hold the family hostage. Sheriff Tod Shaw (Sterling Hayden) arrives with Dan Carney (Willis Bouchey), the Secret Service agent in charge of the president's security detail. When he does, Baron and his gangsters shoot Carney dead and a bullet fractures Shaw's arm. Baron sends one of his two henchmen to double-check on the president's schedule, but he is killed in a shootout with the police. Jud (James O'Hara), a television repairman, shows up at the house and also becomes a hostage. Pidge (Kim Charney) goes to his grandfather's dresser to fetch some medication and notices a fully loaded revolver which he replaces with his toy cap gun. Baron is confronted by the sheriff on the risks and meaning of killing the President and Baron's remaining henchman begins showing some reluctance. For Baron, however, these are the very least of his concerns and it soon becomes clear that he is a psychopath whose pleasure comes from killing – who and why he kills being of little importance to him. A sniper's rifle has been mounted on a metal table by a window. Jud discreetly hooks the table up to the 5000-volt plate output of the family television. Pop Benson (James Gleason) then spills a cup of water on the floor beneath the table. Although the hope is that Baron will be shocked and killed in this way, his remaining henchman touches the table first and is electrocuted, reflexively firing the rifle repeatedly and attracting the attention of police at the train station. Baron shoots and kills Jud, disconnects the electrical hook-up and aims the rifle as the President's train arrives at the station, but to his surprise it passes straight through (the stop having been cancelled). Ellen Benson (Nancy Gates) shoots Baron in the abdomen and Shaw shoots him again. Baron's dying words are: "No…don't…no…please no…no…no…" More about it on Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suddenly_(1954_film)

LicensePublic Domain

More videos by this producer

Ma Barker's Killer Brood

Ma Barker's Killer Brood is a neo noir crime film, released in 1960. The low-budget film was directed by Bill Karn and starred Lurene Tuttle as the title character, Ma Barker. The film is a highly fictionalized account of the life of Ma Barker and her four sons, whose Barker-Karpis gang terrorized

The Snows of Kilimanjaro

The Snows of Kilimanjaro is a 1952 American Technicolor film based on the 1936 short story of the same name by Ernest Hemingway. It is directed by Henry King, written by Casey Robinson, and starred Gregory Peck as Harry, Susan Hayward as Helen, and Ava Gardner as Cynthia Green (a character invented

The Great St. Louis Bank Robbery

The Great St. Louis Bank Robbery (also called The St. Louis Bank Robbery, the film title in the opening credits) is a 1959 heist film, directed by Charles Guggenheim and starring Steve McQueen as a college dropout hired to be the getaway driver in a bank robbery. Based on a 1953 bank robbery attemp